Criminal Division court lists

The Criminal Division has three list courts for the pre-trial management of cases committed from the Magistrates’ Court with a plea of not guilty: the General List, the Sexual Offences List, and the Circuit List.

The list courts are separated by case type being:

The General List which is responsible for all Melbourne matters, other than those in the Sexual Offences List. The Sexual Offences List which is responsible for all matters involving sexual offences. The Circuit List which is responsible for all County Court matters held across 11 Victorian regional court locations.

The list courts also hear a variety of short matters including applications to adjourn pleas and appeals by consent, filing indictments, filing notices of discontinuance, bail variations, and pre-appeal hearings.

Was this page helpful?

Page last updated: 20 March 2020