Civil Jurisdiction

The Civil Jurisdiction is divided into two divisions:

The Commercial Division consists of four lists and the Common Law Division consists of eight lists.

Practice Notes

Practice notes for the Civil Jurisdiction can be found here.

The Civil Directions Group (Commercial and Common Law Registries)

The Civil Directions Group provides information about submitting consent orders, requesting directions hearings and to obtain the current standard timetabling orders.

Click Here for more information....

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR)

The Court is committed to continually improving access to justice services. In 2009, the Court established an Alternative Dispute Resolution practice which provides litigants with a timely and cost effective avenue to have their matter resolved.

The ADR process is available in the Civil Jurisdiction and has been particularly beneficial in serious injury cases where disputes have been resolved significantly earlier than would otherwise be the case.

Vexatious Proceedings

The Vexatious Proceedings Act 2014 ('the Act') introduces a comprehensive new regime for the management and prevention of vexatious litigation. Specifically, it provides a range of new orders for the Supreme, County, Magistrates’ and Children’s Courts and VCAT to manage vexatious behaviour more effectively and at an earlier stage. Click here for further information.